Your Health as a Flightsimmer

Aviation & Simulation Topics
lieutfunaki

Your Health as a Flightsimmer

Post by lieutfunaki » Tue Jun 28, 2005 8:49 pm

The Health Effects of Flight Simulation on the Human Body

By Capt. P. K. Ballard VMD.

(Waring: The following is a little sarcastic, and is presented light-heartedly, but hopefully includes some helpful advice. Though I am in medical studies at the moment, it has yet to be determined if I will flunk out entirely or be sued for malpractice in the future, so please appropriate all this a measure of common sense. I AM NOT A DOCTOR...yet)

To some degree, I have reached the pinnacle of flightsim “geekdom.” Not only have I raised two blisters from my brake switch, but I have begun to develop carpal tunnel like pain in my right hand from over-fatiguing muscles and tendons during close formation flying. Part of this problem is a “deathgrip” which we all develop during uncomfortable amounts of focus. Part of it is the tight springs on the cougar I use. And, part of it is just nerves and the stress of lack of relaxation. Whatever the cause, when flightsim joy decreases the joy of normal life, through inducing pain, it’s time for some medical intervention. Due to a lack of a flight surgeon, I’m taking “position 9” for a moment and giving some suggestions.

Stress
Stress, no matter what the cause, is bad. Medical journals around the world are now recognizing that stress weakens the immune system, and can cause everything from high blood pressure/increased heart rate (yeah that red face you get when you flightsim), muscle fatigue through tension (the leg and arm cramps), and literally lowering the body’s ability to fight disease (the cough you got from your kid after that all night practice with the team that your body should have rejected ). Ulcers are also bad bad times. So what do you do?