Test your internet bandwidth!

PC Topics & Troubleshooting
User avatar
Convertible
Virtual Thunderbird Alumnus
Posts: 1064
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 5:59 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ

Post by Convertible » Sun Jan 25, 2009 1:06 am

STRIKER wrote:Hey Con... I didnt know your Commodore 64's rotory phone dialup could go so fast. :wink:
Pretty amazing huh!!!!

@LD, yes it is my home connection. Internet connection speed has never been a problem for me. Cox has been good to me!!! It's my graphic card and memory that need the help. Flying with 14 FPS is not exactly the most enjoyable thing to do!!! ha ha. Someday I will be able to upgrade. I just keep believing that it will happen. :)
Image
User avatar
Blaze
Posts: 669
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 12:16 pm
Location: Orlando, FL
Contact:

Post by Blaze » Mon Jan 26, 2009 4:11 am

My turn to up the anti! ;) I'm in the same situation as Convertible, fast internet but the rig could use an upgrade... :LOL: :roll:

Image
Design is all about finding solutions within constraints.
User avatar
Redeye
Virtual Thunderbird
Posts: 846
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2005 1:48 pm
Location: Vancouver, BC

Post by Redeye » Fri May 22, 2009 11:25 am

My ISP is bad right now.
Download - 4.5 mbps
Upload - 0.04 kbps

I phoned and have a service tech comming Thurs May 28th. I then asked if they offer a bigger pipe and to my surprise they do!

Right now I have 5 mb and they offer 15 mb for an added cost. The 15 mb will be installed Thurs May 28th. I hope this will solve my connection problems.

Till then, I'm not sure if i will be able to fly and stay connected.

All this makes me wonder why I have a problem now? Did the ISP slow down my connection in order to get clients to purchase the new 15 mb connection?
User avatar
Lawndart
Virtual Thunderbird
Posts: 9113
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2005 8:36 am
Location: Mooresville, NC

Post by Lawndart » Fri May 22, 2009 12:09 pm

@Redeye, make sure they check your SNR level and also power levels both upstream and downstream!

You can Google SNR levels for [your ISP] and get an idea what good numbers are supposed to be for your provider or just in general. Your tech should be able to pull up a status page for your modem with all this info (typically via an internal IP such as 192.168.100.1 - depending on your modem). Just for reference my levels (with Brighthouse cable 20Mbps down/2Mbps up) are:

Downstream Status
Power Level
15.5 dBmV
Signal to Noise Ratio
36.8 dB


Upstream Status
Power Level
40.3 dBmV

The status page also contains more information about your frequency, modulation and (exact) bit rate, so be sure to have your tech pull this up for you and try to get an idea of the manufacturer specs for your ISP/area. Here's an old article to get you started:
SpeedGuide.net: Cable modem signal levels
User avatar
Tailhook
Virtual Thunderbird
Posts: 1023
Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2006 3:17 pm
Location: Baltimore, MD

Post by Tailhook » Fri Nov 06, 2009 12:55 am

Upload is what really counts. :wink:
Sweeper
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2008 5:07 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Sweeper » Fri Nov 06, 2009 8:18 am

Wow!! I hope to see that once too at home! :shock:
Grab
Posts: 167
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2007 11:26 pm
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Contact:

Post by Grab » Fri Nov 06, 2009 5:32 pm

Image
Image
Beaker
Posts: 611
Joined: Wed May 30, 2007 12:19 am
Location: Colorado

Post by Beaker » Fri Nov 06, 2009 7:58 pm

Nice download. :D
Image
User avatar
Lawndart
Virtual Thunderbird
Posts: 9113
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2005 8:36 am
Location: Mooresville, NC

Post by Lawndart » Fri Nov 06, 2009 9:05 pm

Test during peak hours (8pm) here with Bright House cable: 29142kbps down, 1913kbps up.

Unfortunately, no one in the states is even close to the Asians or Europeans when it comes to download speed:
Image
User avatar
Tailhook
Virtual Thunderbird
Posts: 1023
Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2006 3:17 pm
Location: Baltimore, MD

Post by Tailhook » Fri Nov 06, 2009 9:09 pm

Lawndart wrote:Unfortunately, no one in the states is even close to the Asians or Europeans when it comes to download speed:
Image
:shock:

That HAS to be years old because now with Verizon and Comcast both using FiOS lines that puts us easily in the 30+mbps range. :?
User avatar
Lawndart
Virtual Thunderbird
Posts: 9113
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2005 8:36 am
Location: Mooresville, NC

Post by Lawndart » Fri Nov 06, 2009 9:25 pm

The chart shows average speed, not the fastest options available. The infrastructure in some of the smaller countries far exceed that of the states. Consider that almost every household in Sweden for example has access to fiber optics nowadays, compared to the most common packages readily available in the states (cable and DSL) is one factor, another is what most are willing to pay for. Most people aren't like us, and instead settle for the cheapest broadband solutions, hence why the US is far behind on average speed compared to other technologically advanced countries in Asia and Europe.
User avatar
SilentEagle
Virtual Thunderbird Alumnus
Posts: 136
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2005 9:00 pm
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Contact:

Post by SilentEagle » Fri Nov 06, 2009 11:47 pm

Image

Too bad the university doesn't allow hosting of servers... :(
Image
Razgriz
Posts: 52
Joined: Wed Sep 30, 2009 8:57 pm
Location: Columbia, MD

Post by Razgriz » Sat Nov 07, 2009 12:40 am

SilentEagle wrote:Image

Too bad the university doesn't allow hosting of servers... :(

WHAT?!
Beaker
Posts: 611
Joined: Wed May 30, 2007 12:19 am
Location: Colorado

Post by Beaker » Sat Nov 07, 2009 3:00 am

T1, dude! I had one at my old dorms too, never a ping above 40. Sigh. :|
Image
User avatar
Tailhook
Virtual Thunderbird
Posts: 1023
Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2006 3:17 pm
Location: Baltimore, MD

Post by Tailhook » Sat Nov 07, 2009 5:02 am

Beaker wrote:T1, dude! I had one at my old dorms too, never a ping above 40.
You mean T3? Comcast Cable is faster than T1. My old high school had a T1 line and it was slow as... :wink:
Post Reply