Help with HOTAS Cougar

Discussions about Cockpits, Joysticks & Setups
Post Reply
Talon
Posts: 69
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2006 12:56 pm
Location: Orlando, Florida

Help with HOTAS Cougar

Post by Talon » Mon Oct 27, 2014 12:36 pm

After being away from flight sims for a few years now, I am getting back into them and started using my Cougar again. As I was calibrating my HOTAS Cougar, I noticed the Y-Axis on the joystick seems "stuck" at either min or max. Just an FYI: I have the real simulator FSSB R2 mod in mine.
At first I thought the FSSB is now damaged, but on a hunch that it wasn't I connected just the joystick (no throttle) on another laptop, and installed the base software (3.HCO.2004.exe) and the all the axis' work perfectly.
So I wanted to ask, does anyone here know what I need to do to get this working correctly on my older flight sim system?

Thanks in advance for any help!
:D
User avatar
Panther
Virtual Thunderbird
Posts: 994
Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2006 4:41 am
Location: Las Vegas, NV

Post by Panther » Mon Oct 27, 2014 9:46 pm

I'm going to assume Windows 7? If so, check out a great tutorial here:
http://cubpilotshangar.net/page105.html
Talon
Posts: 69
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2006 12:56 pm
Location: Orlando, Florida

Post by Talon » Tue Oct 28, 2014 7:46 am

Thank-you very much Panther!
I had tried this and it didn't work for me, but on a good note I got it fixed this way:
After leaving the stick and throttle disconnected from each other for a day, I plugged the stick back in by itself (USB) and all the axis looked perfect again. I then unplugged the stick from the computer, reconnected the throttle to the stick, and then reconnected the USB back to my computer and it appears to have remedied itself by doing this.
Maybe this will help someone else one day.

Thanks again!

:D
Post Reply