Welcome - The Rookie Thread

Sit Back, Relax and Chat about Anything
Lawndart
Virtual Thunderbird

Welcome - The Rookie Thread

Post by Lawndart » Wed May 23, 2007 1:57 am

New comer here (or seasoned, but somehow missed this)? Well, here's The Rookie Thread for you to introduce yourself to our community forums.

I saw one of these threads on another board and just thought it would be interesting to hear people in the community tell us a little about themselves and what they do in real life. Sort of an introduction to whom you are.

Me, I'm a 29-year old airline pilot for Mesa Air Group flying an Embraer 145 regional jet. When I'm out flying in the real world, I sometimes cannot wait to get back home and strap on a "fake" jet. I know I'm not alone feeling this way, otherwise I'd have to claim insanity! ;) Been flying flightsims and combat flightsims since back in the mid 80's, so I couldn't tell you how much time I've killed with a joystick over the years, (but it's a lot).
Last edited by Lawndart on Fri Nov 27, 2015 11:41 am, edited 11 times in total.
Ells

Post by Ells » Wed May 23, 2007 6:32 am

34 year old Health & Safety Manager in London, England.

I wanted to go into the RAF when I was young, but flunked a lot of things at school, so lost that dream, and regretted it ever since.

I'm currently sitting a Masters degree in Occupational Safety & Health and have recently had twin boys born in January :D
Gunner
Virtual Thunderbird

Post by Gunner » Wed May 23, 2007 9:32 am

I'm 48 years old, I own a small construction supply company specializing in diamond cutting tools (for cutting concrete, asphalt, granite etc).

...Then I crawl into my very real cockpit, grab the real stick and throttle, and fly with real pilots...in fake jets.:roll: Oh well, three out of four ain't bad! :wink:
Last edited by Gunner on Wed May 23, 2007 12:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Tomcatboy48237

Post by Tomcatboy48237 » Wed May 23, 2007 11:29 am